Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Congratulations to Our New Hall of Famers!

The BBWAA Class of 2017 is here, and it includes three people I consider worthy: Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, and Ivan Rodriguez. Congratulations go out to them!

In their honor, I've updated the Hall of Famers' first ML homers list! Bobby Castillo, Kent Mercker, and Storm Davis join the list of victimized pitchers! Congratulations go out to them as well!

Friday, December 30, 2016

Ultimate Number Players: #16-20

I had a more ambitious post in mind, but I've been too scramble-brained lately to work on it, so maybe it'll go up next month. In the meantime, here's my obligatory post for December, a continuation of the Ultimate Number Players series.

Ultimate #16: Paul Lo Duca

The scrappy catcher is nigh forgotten these days, but he held on to #16 better than any other player in MLB history.

Ultimate #17: Ellis Valentine

I was unable to find a photo of Valentine's brief tenure with the Texas Rangers, but I'll presume that he did in fact wear #17, as various sources report. I will, however, include a photo collage of a close contender for the title of Ultimate #17, Mickey Rivers.

Ultimate #18: Jason Kendall

The greatest catcher in Pirates history, as well as the Ultimate #18, Kendall is one of the more underrated players in baseball history.

Ultimate #19: Curtis Wilkerson

Curtis Wilkerson??? Yes. Curtis Wilkerson.

Ultimate #20: Brad Fullmer

Don Sutton might in fact qualify, but I'm not completely certain. Since I am certain about good ol' Brad Fullmer, I'm going with him here.

Friday, November 18, 2016

Annual Updates, 2016

Another season has come and gone, and the awards are now in the books. Updates have been made to the following posts:

 The Second Place Award Winners
Rookie of the Year Facts
Which Team Had the Most Cy Young Winners?
Back-to-back World Series with different franchises
The Run That Clinched It

It was quite a year, with the Cubs (finally!) winning the World Series, and doing so in a thrilling fashion. As a longtime Cub rooter, it was perhaps my most rewarding moment as a fan. Right up there with the time the White Sox won it. It still hasn't sunk in yet that it really happened. I'll never forget it though. Whether these Cubs become a dynasty, or whether they fall apart like other great young teams have, we'll always have 2016. Flags fly forever.

Also, with Rick Porcello winning the Cy Young Award, the 2014 Tigers' pitching staff becomes a thing of legend, so be sure to check that Cy Young post out.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Oldest Ringless Players: 2016

With the 2016 regular season in the books, we at long last have our playoff picture! While I remain strongly opposed to the Wild Card Game, this year I got what I wanted and both leagues' Wild Cards finished tied, which would've led to a tiebreaker game being played anyway under the old system.

So who is the oldest player without a World Series ring on each playoff team's current 40-man roster?

Baltimore Orioles: J.J. Hardy (August 19, 1982)
Boston Red Sox: Brad Ziegler (October 10, 1979)
Chicago Cubs: Munenori Kawasaki (June 3, 1981)
Cleveland Indians: Marlon Byrd (August 30, 1977)
Los Angeles Dodgers: Rich Hill (March 11, 1980)
New York Mets: Bartolo Colon (May 24, 1973)
San Francisco Giants: Joe Nathan (November 22, 1974)
Texas Rangers: Carlos Beltran (April 24, 1977)
Toronto Blue Jays: R.A. Dickey (October 29, 1974)
Washington Nationals: Matt Belisle (June 6, 1980)

Players born in the 1970s are becoming an increasing rarity, but we've got several still hanging around the majors looking for that championship. In fact, just three years ago, every player on this list was born in the '70s. And six out of these ten are pitchers.

Nothing personal, Brad Ziegler or Joe Nathan, but I'm not going to be very happy if you get a ring this year, since you two play for the only franchises in the mix that I've seen win a World Series. The guy on this list I most hope gets a ring this year is Munenori Kawasaki, despite the fact that he's an MLB journeyman who had a more substantial career in Japan. Why? Well, just look at what team he plays for. How can you not want to see the Cubs finally win it?

Monday, September 19, 2016

The Rays Franchise Deep Three

Finally we've reached the end of this series (for now, at least). The last franchise on the board is the Tampa Bay Devil Rays, who've spent about two thirds of their existence as a laughingstock and the other third as the ultimate "do the most with the least" franchise. How does it shake out?

1stDavid PriceToby HallCarlos PenaBen ZobristEvan LongoriaJulio LugoCarl CrawfordMelvin UptonMatt Joyce
2ndJames ShieldsDioner NavarroFred McGriffLogan ForsytheAubrey HuffJason BartlettDesmond JenningsRocco BaldelliBen Grieve
3rdScott KazmirJohn FlahertyTravis LeeMiguel CairoJared SandbergKevin StockerGreg VaughnRandy WinnDave Martinez

So...that 3rd Team is brutal. What do you expect from a franchise with such a short and usually bad history? Center field was fairly strong though, and once Kevin Kiermaier gets another year under his belt, he'll probably at least make it to the 2nd Team. Catcher was definitely the weakest position here. No offense to Toby Hall, but he wouldn't even crack the 6th Team for some franchises.

I'm hoping to recompile these in perhaps about five years, if I'm still doing this blog then. Certainly some players will have moved up or down on the lists, and even some players yet to debut will probably be there for a few of them. For now though, enjoy the 2015-16 rankings in all their up-to-date comprehensiveness.